Gold Devaluation?

Discuss MagiStream and site-related topics.
Raneth
Hello World
CreaturesTrade

Gold Devaluation?

Post by Raneth »

So I've noticed rumblings of discontent around the forums, mostly about the overpriced Donis. Some people are really annoyed by it. I don't really have an opinion either way-but the one thing I have noticed is the devaluation of gold on the site.

Gold doesn't seem to mean as much now as it did when I started playing, which was back in spring. There are more transactions taking place with trades now rather than for gold, and people are far more willing to spend oodles of gold on creatures that really aren't worth that much to most people. Old players coming back to the site sometimes nearly get ripped off trying to sell old donis, now worth nearing a million, for 50k gold.

Don't get me wrong-I don't think the economy is "broken." But it is problematic for casual players. When the economy is designed for those who already have a lot of gold, it really punishes new players. This may slow the growth of the site. It hasn't gotten to that point yet, but I worry that it might. It gets frustrating to play and notice people exchanging hundreds of thousands of gold for creatures you might want but can't afford, and to lose hope as those creatures become worth more and more each day.

The solution that comes to mind is a simple one, and is one that many people have already suggested-make adult creatures unable to give gold. This would shut down the mines, which were a great idea but create a stark divide between dedicated and casual players. This would also have the happy effect of increasing (hopefully) the amount of people clicking in the click threads, where their clicks would do some good.